钟表制造的历史

//钟表制造的历史

钟表制造的历史

早在5000到6000年前,中东和北非的人们就已经开始为了改良他们的日历而开始制造钟表。在公元前3500年前,我们所熟知的细长的四边形建筑——方尖碑,就已经建造好了。方尖碑的影子随着不断变换会形成了一种日晷,人们可以通过日晷区分上午和下午。在中午观察方尖碑,当它的影子是一年中最短的,那么这一天便是一年中最长的一天,反之亦然。在公元前600年左右,埃及文明便已经开始使用默赫特作为天文工具。日晷从最初的水平板或垂直板慢慢发展成更精致的仪器。追溯到公元前30年,在希腊、小亚细亚和意大利等地区,所发现的风格迥异的日晷更是多达13种。

水钟也是一种计时方式,其中最古老的可以追溯到公元前1500年。人们使用水钟来确定夜间的小时数,也可能同样适用于白天。公元前100到500年间,希腊和罗马的钟表师们发明了许多机械化的水钟,其中一种被称为风之塔。几乎同时,在公元200到1300年间,远东机械化的天文钟水平也迅速发展,其中的代表就是苏松钟楼。由于人们很难精确地掌控水的流速,水钟永远无法达到分秒不差。因此人们自然而然地采用了其他方法。

在公元500年到1500年之间的欧洲,日晷时钟发展迅速。人们将他们放置在门廊上方去判断正午和四个“潮汐”。到了10世纪,欧洲出现了口袋日晷。14世纪上半叶,大型机械钟表开始出现在意大利各大城市的高塔上,这一时期也因此被称为欧洲的历史中的制表黄金时代。但大型机械钟都有一个通病:钟摆摆动的周期很大程度上取决于驱动力的大小和驱动中的摩擦力。就像水流一样,这一比例很难调节。在1500年到1510年间,德国纽伦堡的Peter Henlein发明了弹簧时钟,也因此引发了钟表界的变革。Peter Henlein发明的钟表和手表体积小,重量轻。这样可随身携带并且计时准确的钟表在富人中颇受欢迎。

1656年,荷兰科学家Christiaan Huygens制造出了第一个摆钟。值得一提的是,伽利略才是真正发明这一概念的人,早在1582年,他就研究过钟摆的运动。1721年,英国科学家George Graham更是把摆钟的精确度提高到了1秒,与此同时木匠John Harrison也研究出了新的方法去减小摩擦。在1761年,John Harrison制造出了一个带有弹簧和平衡轮的航海天文钟,他也因此获得了英国政府的奖励。

下个世纪具有代表性的的发明之一便是Siegmund Riefler(1889)发明出了有些瑕疵自由摆,即便如此它的精确度也可以达到每天仅差百分之一秒,这也成为当时许多天文台的标准。第一个完美的自由摆是在1898由R.J. Rudd年发明的。自由摆发明的成功也使联合几个自由摆钟的可能性大大提升。1921年,W.H. Shortt时钟的发明轰动一时,许多天文台的首席计时官几乎立即采用了这种时钟。

20世纪20年代发明的石英晶体振荡器和石英钟,其计时性能远远超越了使用摆锤和齿轮的时钟。石英钟的工作原理是基于石英晶体的压电性,因此石英钟的性能要优越的多,它们没有齿轮之间的摩擦干扰正常频率。这种石英表因为优越的性能而能持续在市场上占据主导地位,但随着技术的发展石英钟也渐渐被原子表所超越。

2018-07-03T08:10:17+00:00七月 3rd, 2018|未分类|

The History of Watchmaking

As best we know, 5000 to 6000 years ago great civilizations in the Middle East and North Africa began to make clocks to augment their calendars. Slender, tapering, four-sided monuments, known as obelisks, were built as early as 3500 BCE. Their moving shadows formed a kind of sundial, enabling people to partition the day into morning and afternoon. Obelisks showed the year’s longest and shortest days when the shadow at noon was the shortest or longest of the year. During the Egyptian development of around 600 BCE such astronomical tool as merkhet was used. Sundials evolved from flat horizontal or vertical plates to more elaborate forms. By 30 BCE there were around 13 different sundial styles in use in Greece, Asia Minor, and Italy.

Another type of timekeeping was Water Clock. One of the oldest dates to around 1500 BCE. These clocks were used to determine hours at night, but may have been used in daylight as well. More mechanized water clocks were developed by Greek and Roman horologists between 100 BCE and 500 CE. One of them is known today as the Tower of the Winds. Meanwhile in the Far East mechanized astronomical/astrological clock were developed between 200 to 1300 CE. One of them is the Su Sung clock tower. Since the rate of flow of water is very difficult to control accurately, a clock based on that flow could never achieve excellent accuracy. That is why people were naturally led to other approaches.

In Europe Sundial clocks evolved between 500 CE to 1500 CE and were placed mainly above doorways. They were used to identify midday and four “tides”. By the 10th century, several types of pocket sundials were developed and used in Europe. The first half of the 14th century is known in European history of watchmaking because of large mechanical clocks, which began to appear in the towers of several large Italian cities. But large mechanical clocks had the same basic problem: the period of oscillation of the escapement depended heavily on the amount of driving force and the amount of friction in the drive. Like water flow, the rate was difficult to regulate. Revolution in the watchmaking by this time was the invention of spring-powered clocks by Peter Henlein of Nürnberg (Germany), between 1500 and 1510. Clocks and watches invented by Peter Henlein were much smaller thanks to replacing of the heavy drive weights.  This made them popular among wealthy individuals due to the fact that the clocks and watches were portable now and due to truly accurate timekeeping.

Dutch scientist Christiaan Huygens made the first pendulum clock in 1656. It is important to stress that Galileo Galilei is actually credited with inventing the pendulum-clock concept. He studied the motion of the pendulum as early as 1582. George Graham from Great Britain improved the pendulum clock’s accuracy to 1 second per day in 1721 and John Harrison, a carpenter and self-taught clock-maker, developed new methods for reducing friction. As a result John Harrison had built a marine chronometer by 1761 with a spring and balance wheel escapement that won the British government’s prize.

The next century was characterized by the Siegmund Riefler’s invention (1889) of nearly free pendulum clock, which attained an accuracy of a hundredth of a second a day and became the standard in many astronomical observatories. A 100% free-pendulum clock was introduced by R.J. Rudd about 1898. This made it possible the development of several free-pendulum clocks. One of them was W.H. Shortt clock, introduced 1921, which was supreme timekeeper in many observatories and almost immediately replaced other clocks popular at that time.

Quartz crystal oscillators and clocks, invented in the 1920s and developed onward improved timekeeping performance far beyond that was achieved using pendulum and balance-wheel escapements. Quartz clock operation is based on the piezoelectric property of quartz crystals. Quartz crystal clocks were a way much better because they had no gears or escapements to disturb their regular frequency. Such quartz watches continue dominate the market in numbers because their performance is excellent for their price but their performance has been substantially surpassed by atomic clocks.


2017-04-12T14:15:52+00:00